

MINUTES OF THE SPECIAL BOARD OF DIRECTORS MEETING HELD ON WEDNESDAY, FEBRUARY 16, 2017, 9:30 AM

Regional District Board Room, 3008 Fifth Avenue, Port Alberni, BC

DIRECTORS	John Jack, Chairperson, Councillor, Huu-ay-aht First Nation
PRESENT:	Keith Wyton, Director, Electoral Area "A" (Bamfield)
	Mike Kokura, Director, Electoral Area "B" (Beaufort)
	Tony Bennett, Director, Electoral Area "C" (Long Beach)
	Penny Cote, Director, Electoral Area "D" (Sproat Lake)
	John McNabb, Director, Electoral Area "E" (Beaver Creek)
	Lucas Banton, Director, Electoral Area "F" (Cherry Creek)
	Mike Ruttan, Mayor, City of Port Alberni
	Jack McLeman, Councillor, City of Port Alberni
	Teleconference:
	Josie Osborne, Vice-Chairperson, Mayor, District of Tofino
	Dianne St. Jacques, Mayor, District of Ucluelet
	Alan McCarthy, Member of Legislature, Yuułu?ił?ath Government
	Wilfred Cootes, Councillor, Uchucklesaht Tribe Government Kirsten Johnsen, Member of Council, Toquaht Nation

STAFF PRESENT: Russell Dyson, Chief Administrative Officer Wendy Thomson, Manager of Administrative Services

1. <u>CALL TO ORDER</u>

The Chairperson called the meeting to order at 9:36 am.

The Chairperson recognized the meeting being held in the Tseshaht First Nation and the Hupacasath First Nation Traditional Territories.

2. WAIVE NOTICE OF MEETING

MOVED: Director McNabb SECONDED: Director McLeman

THAT the Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District Board of Directors waive notice of this Special Board of Directors meeting as per section 220 (3) of the Local Government Act.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

3. <u>REPORTS</u>

a. Personnel Update - R. Dyson, CAO

The CAO advised the ACRD Board of Directors that he is resigning from his position of Chief Administrative Officer with the Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District as of May 2017. He has accepted the Chief Administrative Officer position with the Comox Valley Regional District. He thanked the Board and Staff for supporting him over the past six years. The Board of Directors thanked Mr. Dyson for his hard work and dedication to the ACRD and wished him all the best for the future.

4. ADJOURN

MOVED: Director Banton SECONDED: Director Kokura

THAT this meeting be adjourned at 9:55 am

CARRIED

Certified Correct:

John Jack, Chairperson Russell Dyson, Chief Administrative Officer